The Lions Youth of the Year Quest  has been conducted by Lions service clubs in Australia for 46 years. The Quest is designed to encourage student interest in leadership and the qualities required to take an active and constructive role in the community. An outstanding young person is chosen from candidates throughout Australia to travel overseas and act as an ambassador for Lions Clubs International Multiple District 201. The National Australia Bank has sponsored the Quest for the past 13 years.

The Quest seeks a high level of academic, leadership, sporting, public speaking and citizenship achievement in its potential winners. By emphasising these qualities it hopes to provide outstanding role models for the youth of Australia. Winners from individual Lions Club finals go on to compete at District events and subsequent winners participate in State Finals of the Quest.

The 2010 WA State Final of YOTY was hosted by the Lions Club of Bull Creek and organised by Club members Pat Dowdell, Kerrol Gildersleeve, Kim Wilkinson, Theo Wieman, Ian Bowman and Helen Dalgleish.

Radhika Kayarat, a student at Rossmoyne Senior High School, won the Bull Creek Lions Club Final of the Quest, Finalists in the Club final are shown below. 

 Below L to R: Radhika Kayarat, Nicola Claudius, Daniel Winters, Pauline Miller, Miguel Bachiller, Club President Cherrie Goodier

yoty - club finalists 2010

Radhika joined five other finalists from Lions Districts W1 and W2 at the WA State Finals held on 10 April 2010. Jorja Sumner, winner of the Booragoon Lions Club final and a student at Rossmoyne Senior High School, was the WA State Winner. Jorja will represent WA at the national final in early May 2010. Photos from the State Final are shown below:

Below:  WA State Winner Jorja Sumner with W2 District Governor Neil Saunders

jorja sumner with lions w2 district governor neil saunders1

Belows left: Mayor Russell Aubrey of City of Melville with WA State Finalists (shown left to right) Linda Salsano, Madison Gannon, Mona Khosraviani, Tarlee Lennox, Radhika Kayarat, Jorja Sumner    Below right:  Senator David Johnston, member of the judging panel, with Linda Salsano

mayor aubrey with finalists1 senator johnston